Kenect vs Podium for boat dealers (2026): pricing, marine integrations and what neither one does
By Keelson Intelligence · Updated · 11 min read
For most boat dealers Kenect is the closer fit: it runs a marine page, a Winboats integration and two marine case studies, and Capterra rated it 4.6 from 93 reviews against Podium's 4.3 from 522 in October 2026. Podium is the broader multi-industry platform, the only one of the two with a listed price ($249 a month on TrustRadius), and it has connected to IDS Astra G2 since 2019. Neither publishes a marine price list, and neither markets a workflow that qualifies a new YachtWorld or Boat Trader lead and books the sea trial; that is the job an AI sales desk such as Keelson does on top of either one.
Kenect pricing and Podium pricing for boat dealers in 2026
Neither vendor publishes a marine price list, so every figure below comes from a third party. The only hard number in the public record is Podium at $249 a month, listed by TrustRadius in October 2026; Capterra shows Podium as “contact vendor”. Kenect publishes no pricing page at all, and a competing dealer-software vendor, Dealer Funnel, reads Kenect's own terms of service as a 12-month term that renews automatically (Dealer Funnel). Treat that reading as a prompt to check the contract yourself, not as settled fact: it was written by a company that sells against Kenect.
| Pricing question | Kenect | Podium |
|---|---|---|
| Public price list | None; plans are quoted by sales | None on Podium's own site |
| Third-party listed price | Capterra shows a $1.00 starting price, which is a placeholder, not a plan | $249 a month on TrustRadius; “contact vendor” on Capterra |
| Contract term | 12 months, auto-renewing, per Dealer Funnel's reading of Kenect's terms | Not stated in the sources reviewed |
| Marine-specific discount | Brunswick Dealer Advantage partnership since October 2021, with discounted pricing for Brunswick dealers | None found |
| Per-lead or per-message fees | Not published | Not published |
The Brunswick detail matters for a lot of rooftops. When Kenect joined the Brunswick Dealer Advantage program in October 2021, Boating Industry reported discounted pricing for Brunswick dealers and a base of more than 4,500 dealers in North America at the time. If you sell a Brunswick brand, ask for the program rate before you compare anything else.
Because the list prices are not public, the useful work is in the quote. Ask both vendors the same questions in writing:
- What is the monthly price per rooftop, and does it change with the number of users or texting lines?
- Is the term 12 months, does it auto-renew, and how many days' notice does cancellation need?
- Are 10DLC registration, carrier fees and payment processing billed separately?
- Is the AI auto-reply product (Kenect Engage AI, Podium's AI tools) included or an add-on?
- Is the renewal price capped, and is there an opt-out window in the first term?
For contrast, Keelson publishes its price: from $795 a month for one rooftop on an annual plan, with no per-lead fees and a 90-day opt-out in the first term. The full plan detail is on the pricing page.
Review ratings: what 93 and 522 Capterra reviews tell a boat dealer
On ratings alone Kenect leads, but Podium's score rests on more than five times as many reviews. The Capterra comparison showed Kenect at 4.6 out of 5 from 93 reviews and Podium at 4.3 from 522 when read on 27 October 2026.
| Measure | Kenect | Podium |
|---|---|---|
| Overall rating | 4.6 out of 5 | 4.3 out of 5 |
| Number of reviews | 93 | 522 |
| Who the reviewers are | Mostly dealerships; Kenect markets itself as “AI for Dealerships” across vehicle types | Many local-business categories, of which dealerships are one |
Two cautions before you weigh the gap. First, neither review set is filtered to marine, so a 0.3-point difference tells you more about general satisfaction than about how either tool handles a Boat Trader lead at 9pm on a Saturday. Second, a review score measures the people who chose to write one. Ask each vendor for two marine references in your own region and call them; that conversation is worth more than the decimal point.
Marine DMS integrations: Winboats, DockMaster, Lightspeed and IDS (and where EverLogic fits)
Kenect has the deeper documented marine integration story, while Podium's one documented marine link is IDS Astra G2. Kenect publishes a Winboats integration page that syncs contacts, shows text history inside Winboats and sends triggered messages, and a blog post about DockMaster dealers texting through Kenect. Its marine page carries Winboats and DockMaster marks, and Kenect's integrations directory tags four systems as marine: Winboats, DockMaster, Lightspeed and IDS.
| System | Kenect | Podium |
|---|---|---|
| Winboats | Documented integration: contact sync, conversation history in Winboats, triggered messages | Not documented in the sources reviewed |
| DockMaster | Tagged marine in Kenect's integrations directory; Kenect blog on DockMaster dealers | Not documented |
| IDS Astra G2 | IDS tagged marine (and RV, powersports, automotive) in Kenect's integrations directory | Documented since June 2019: reviews, texting, web chat, Facebook Messenger and Google Click to Message |
| Lightspeed | Tagged marine (and RV, powersports, automotive) in Kenect's integrations directory | Not documented |
| EverLogic | Listed for automotive and RV, not tagged marine, in Kenect's integrations directory | Not documented |
AI assistants are already answering this exact question for dealers, so it pays to check what they say. Asked “Kenect vs Podium for boat dealers” on 27 October 2026, Google AI Mode recommended Kenect for its sync with DockMaster, Lightspeed, IDS and EverLogic. Kenect's own directory backs the first three for marine but files EverLogic under automotive and RV, so a boat store should not count on it. Even for a listed system, ask for a live demo inside your own DMS and watch a text land in the customer record before you sign.
Podium's IDS link comes from a June 2019 IDS release aimed at RV and marine dealers, which lets IDS users reach Podium without a separate login. If your store runs on IDS Astra G2, both vendors now document an IDS link, so the deciding question is which one writes texts back to the customer record in your demo. For a broader look at which CRM or DMS fits a boat store, see the best CRM for boat dealers guide.
Texting, reviews, payments and AI: Kenect and Podium feature by feature
Both are customer-messaging platforms first: texting, web chat and review requests are the core of each. The differences show up in payments, marine content and how far the AI goes. Kenect's marine page lists text messaging, web chat, broadcast messaging, a reputation suite, Text-to-Pay and Pay Over Time, plus Engage AI and Voice AI. Podium's documented dealer features come from its IDS release and its automotive AI BDC article.
| Feature | Kenect | Podium |
|---|---|---|
| Two-way business texting | Yes | Yes |
| Website chat | Yes (WebChat) | Yes |
| Mass texting to a customer list | Yes (Broadcast) | Not documented in the sources reviewed |
| Review requests and responses | Yes (reputation suite, automated requests) | Yes (review collection and tracking) |
| Payments by text | Yes (Text-to-Pay, Pay Over Time) | Not documented in the sources reviewed; ask |
| AI auto-replies | Engage AI answers routine inbound text and email | AI BDC for car dealers, average reply in 36 seconds by Podium's own figure |
| Voice AI | Yes, launched September 2025 | Not documented for dealers in the sources reviewed |
| Video texting | Yes, marketed to marine dealers | Not documented |
| Appointment handling | Reminders only on the marine page | Test-drive booking described for car dealers, no marine mention |
| Marine case studies | Two: SWS Marine and Lincolntown Marine | None found |
The marine proof points belong to Kenect. Its SWS Marine case study reports 198 text leads in six months, and its Lincolntown Marine case study reports over $40,000 in Text-to-Pay transactions in the first six months. Both are vendor-reported, and both describe texting and payments, not lead qualification. Kenect also markets video texting to marine dealers, which suits walkaround clips sent to a remote buyer.
Podium's dealer material is automotive. Its AI BDC article says its assistant replies in 36 seconds on average and claims one in four US dealerships use Podium, but it does not mention boats, and Podium's only marine article is a 2023 list of CRMs that includes two of its own products and no marine-specific tools. Kenect, for its part, says it serves more than 10,000 dealerships across its verticals (Kenect).
What neither one does: instant lead qualification and sea trial booking
Neither Kenect nor Podium sells boat dealers a workflow that qualifies a marketplace lead and books the sea trial. As published in October 2026, Kenect's marine page offers appointment reminders, not booking. Podium's AI books test drives for car dealers, and nothing in its material covers a 26-foot center console, a trade on a pontoon or a lake-versus-offshore conversation. Both platforms are excellent at carrying a conversation a salesperson starts; the gap is the first hour of a new lead, when nobody has started it yet.
In practice that leaves four jobs on a salesperson's desk with either tool:
- Reading marketplace leads. Neither documents parsing YachtWorld, Boat Trader or boats.com leads and replying by text from the dealership's number; the mechanics of those leads are covered in the YachtWorld and Boat Trader lead guide.
- Qualifying in conversation. Budget, timeline, trade-in, financing need, experience, intended use and home water still have to be asked by a person.
- Booking the sea trial. Putting a water test into a salesperson's calendar, with weather in mind and reminders sent, is a manual step; the sea trial scheduling guide explains why it is the step that matters.
- Following up for 90 days. Broadcast texts reach a list, but neither documents a per-buyer cadence that reacts to price drops on the boat that buyer asked about.
Verdict by dealership type: which texting platform fits your rooftop
Pick by your DMS and your brand line first, then by features. The table assumes you will verify every integration in a live demo.
| Your dealership | Lean toward | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Single rooftop on Winboats | Kenect | The only documented Winboats integration of the two, plus marine case studies |
| Brunswick-brand dealer | Kenect | Dealer Advantage pricing since 2021; ask for the program rate |
| Store on IDS Astra G2 | Either; decide on the demo | Both document an IDS link: Podium since 2019, Kenect in its integrations directory; compare them in a demo |
| Service-heavy store that wants to be paid by text | Kenect | Text-to-Pay and Pay Over Time are on its marine page |
| Multi-industry group (boats plus other retail) | Podium | Broadest platform; 522 Capterra reviews across many categories |
| Buyer who needs a published price before a demo | Podium, as a starting point | The only one with a third-party listed price ($249 a month) |
| Store losing new marketplace leads after hours | Either, plus an AI sales desk | Neither qualifies and books on its own; see below |
Yacht brokerages have a different problem (fewer, larger leads, often international) and are covered on the yacht broker page. For the whole field of AI lead-response tools, not only these two, see the category comparison.
Where an AI sales desk such as Keelson sits on top of either
An AI sales desk takes each new sales lead from first reply to a booked appointment. Texting, reviews and payments stay on the platform you already run. Keelson replies to every YachtWorld, Boat Trader, boats.com, website and ad lead by SMS and email within 60 seconds, from the dealership's own number and email domain, answers only from your inventory feed and approved policy, qualifies the buyer in conversation, and books the showroom visit or sea trial into Google Calendar or Outlook. When a salesperson takes over from their phone, Keelson stops.
It does not replace Kenect or Podium: Keelson does not run voice calls, collect payments, request reviews, appraise trades or write listings. Its texting runs on a registered 10DLC campaign per rooftop with consent logged and quiet hours kept; the rules are summarised in the texting compliance guide, which is general information, not legal advice. Keelson launched in October 2026 and its first dealer pilots start in December 2026, so it has no marine track record yet to show you. How it compares with Kenect's own AI is covered in Keelson vs Kenect; pricing starts at $795 a month.
Frequently asked questions
How much does Kenect cost for a boat dealership?
Kenect does not publish a price; plans are quoted by its sales team. A competing vendor, Dealer Funnel, reads Kenect's terms as a 12-month contract that renews automatically, which is worth confirming in writing. Brunswick dealers should ask for the Dealer Advantage rate, which Boating Industry reported as discounted pricing in October 2021. Ask for the per-rooftop price, user limits, cancellation notice and whether Engage AI is included.
Is Kenect or Podium better for a small marine dealer?
For a single-rooftop boat dealer, Kenect is usually the closer fit in 2026: it has a marine page, a documented Winboats integration, Text-to-Pay and two marine case studies, and Capterra rated it 4.6 from 93 reviews. Podium suits a multi-industry business or a store on IDS Astra G2, and it is the only one with a third-party listed price, $249 a month on TrustRadius.
Does Kenect integrate with Lightspeed or DockMaster?
Yes, by Kenect's own account. Its integrations directory, read in October 2026, tags Lightspeed, DockMaster, IDS and Winboats as marine integrations, and Kenect publishes a Winboats integration page and a post about DockMaster dealers. EverLogic appears in the directory for automotive and RV, not marine. A listing does not show how deep the sync goes, so ask for a live demo inside your own DMS.
Can Kenect or Podium book sea trials automatically?
Not as published in October 2026. Kenect's marine page offers appointment reminders, not booking, and Podium's AI books test drives for car dealers with no marine mention. A salesperson still has to qualify the buyer and put the water test in the calendar. An AI sales desk such as Keelson does that step and books sea trials into Google Calendar or Outlook.
Do Kenect and Podium require a long-term contract?
Kenect's terms set a 12-month term that renews automatically, according to a competitor's reading of them in 2026; check the current terms yourself. The Podium contract term was not stated in the third-party sources reviewed for this page. With either vendor, ask how many days' notice cancellation needs, whether the renewal price is capped and whether there is an opt-out window.
Can I use Keelson alongside Kenect or Podium?
Yes. Keelson handles new sales leads from first reply within 60 seconds to a booked appointment, then hands the buyer to a named salesperson. Kenect or Podium can keep running service texting, reviews and payments, which Keelson does not do. Keelson starts at $795 a month per rooftop on an annual plan; it launched in October 2026 and pilots begin in December 2026.
Sources
- Capterra: Podium vs Kenect. Ratings and review counts read 27 October 2026
- TrustRadius: Kenect vs Podium. Podium listed at $249 a month
- Dealer Funnel: Kenect comparison. Competitor's reading of Kenect's 12-month auto-renewing term
- Kenect: marine solution page
- Kenect: Winboats integration
- Kenect: integrations directory. Lightspeed, IDS, DockMaster and Winboats tagged marine; EverLogic tagged automotive and RV
- Kenect: DockMaster dealers blog post
- Kenect: video texting for marine dealers
- Kenect: SWS Marine case study
- Kenect: Lincolntown Marine case study
- Kenect home page
- Boating Industry: Brunswick partners with Kenect (October 2021)
- Newswire: IDS partners with Podium (June 2019)
- Podium: AI BDC for dealerships
- Podium: 10 best CRMs for marine dealers (May 2023)
- Google AI Mode: Kenect vs Podium for boat dealers. Answer observed 27 October 2026
Related
See Keelson answer one of your leads.
A 20-minute walkthrough on a real lead from your inventory, with your last 90 days of lead handling as the baseline.